It’s supposed to be hard..

Sitting here now, reflecting on my biggest running achievement to date is quite a mixed bag of emotions. Was it hard? Yes it was. Was I smiling all the way through? Damn right I was. Why spend all the countless hours training and scheduling your entire life around ‘running’ if you’re not going to enjoy yourself? I think as you become good at something and notice the improvements you are making it’s hard not to reflect positively on how far you’ve come. This is what should drive that spark of madness that has you laughing as you struggle to put one foot in front of the other as you approach the last mile. The only thing which keeps you from total madness is knowing that you can actually do it.. that your about to achieve something you didn’t think was possible..

Physically I’m in the best shape of my life.. mentally, I’m almost ready to stand on the start line knowing I’m about to go through 4 hours of pure hell 3 weeks in a row. With 6 weeks to go until it all begins there are only 5 distance runs left in my schedule.. the longest being 22 miles in 3 weeks time (stay tuned for a blog post about that no doubt!). Having dedicated my life to improving day after day, week after week I feel like I am truly ready to achieve something and that all the hard work is going to pay off. I think my wife will also be counting down the days so we can have conversations which don’t always begin with “how are your legs feeling this morning?” and “shall i get the ice pack?”!

As you’ve probably guessed by my previous blog posts I’ve always considered myself Mr. Average. I’ve never been the one running home to my Mum to tell her about my A* and I’ve never been the one to really excel at anything. I have friends who have gone on to achieve massive success worldwide and I know full well I’ll never experience that myself. Does this make me any less of a person? Should it make you think any less of yourself just because you’ll never win a gold medal and have a postbox painted gold in your town? Of course not. As long as you can end each day,week or month telling yourself that you kicked some ass and that you’ve achieved something which means something to you and you alone then that is enough. You don’t have to be tweeted about, written about or have posters with your face on to achieve something. Don’t get me wrong, it would be nice but it doesn’t define who you are and what you are capable of.

Don’t ever let anyone tell you you’re not good enough. You are, and its up to you to make sure everybody knows it.

2 thoughts on “It’s supposed to be hard..

  1. Kim Edwards

    Ben you are wrong, I think you have excelled at everything you have done. You are one determined young man and I have no doubt that you will complete this challenge but whatever happens you should shout your achievements from the roof tops. I am extremely proud to call you my son. xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

