You’re only given a little spark of madness..

I’ve always considered myself to be a pretty fit guy.. go to the gym, decent run on the treadmill.. eat relatively healthy. I haven’t ever considered myself willing, let alone able to run a marathon.. So what changed?

I don’t think anything truly changed other than my dedication and determination to achieve something I could considered truly rewarding. Something I could look back on and smile about. Something that goes above and beyond all the usual ‘not enough time’ in the day excuses and towards something that may not only inspire me to challenge myself even further but also inspire others..

This year i ran my first half marathon. At the time this was a distance I assumed i could never achieve, having suffered with poor stability, a broken ankle and various calf/hamstring issues. The aim was to complete in 2 hours. 2 hrs 1 minute 47 seconds was the logged result. A relatively pleasing outcome and something to build on.

I now sit here 45 days away from my first full marathon with a strong amount of training behind me and a lot more in front! I’ve pushed my body and my mind beyond what i considered to be my limit and then got up the following day and done it all over again. I’ve started to enjoy ice baths and listened to way more one direction than I should probably ever admit to.. but i wouldn’t change it for the world. Having signed up to complete 3 marathons over 14 days in September means I have a lot further to push and a lot more time to be spent hitting the pavement ensuring I’m completely focused and ready to achieve what I once considered unachievable..

A lot of people have called me crazy.. but as the late and great Robin Williams put it so perfectly, “You’re only given a little spark of madness.. You mustn’t lose it”.

To be continued…

I look forward to you following my journey through the next 6 weeks of training and the 3 weeks of events that commence. I’ll be providing updates on a range of things from training, diet and whether I’m still alive on 28th September…

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “You’re only given a little spark of madness..

  1. Kim Edwards

    I am so very proud of you, your determination and drive are second to none. I know you will smash all three marathons as you would never let yourself fail.
    You are an amazing individual and I am proud to call you my son.
    I love you.

    Like

Leave a comment